The Annual Rugby Encounter for the Sir Oliver E. Goonetilleke Shield between St. Thomas’ College and Wesley College was played on the 12th of March 2017 at the CR & FC Grounds.

Although the boys conceded a 13-19 lead to the Thomians at half time, they came back with a vengeance in the second half when they defeated St. Thomas’ by 23 points to 19.

Both Teams played a clean game, respecting each other in true sportsmanship. Kudos to both St. Thomas’ & Wesley Rugby Teams.

Congratulations and Well Done boys. You upheld the Wesley Spirit.

2017 Rugby fixture was officially handed over to the manager of Wesley College and the President/ Bishop of the Methodist Church of Sri Lanka, Rev. Asiri Perera.

Wesley College Principal along with the chaplain, first xv rugby captain and vice captains visited Trinity College Principal and met the rugby captain to build up the relationship that both schools had, after the incident that occurred last Friday. The captain gave a rugby ball singed by the captain and vice captains to symbolize the friendship.

Wesley College Colombo, enjoyed their finest moment on the rugby field when they came up with a stupendous performance to score a majestic 34 – 21 win over Trinity College Kandy to clinch the Milo President’s Knock Out Trophy in the final played before a mammoth crowd at the Royal Sports Complex on Sunday. After being led 8 – 13 at the breather, the lads from Campbell Park turned in a dazzling display to completely outplay the Trinitians in the second half. They scored three scintillating tries within eight minutes. through lanky Winger Ishaq Jurangpathy, Hooker Thisara Maduwanwantha and Fly Half Joel Tillekeratne which took away the game from the Trinitians. They put the icing on the cake. in the ’14th minute of the second half with another grand try by Centre Ishara Madushan to not only give them the President’s Trophy, but also helped to avenge the 19 – 22 defeat suffered at the hands of the Trinitians in the league game. It was a marvellous display by the Wesleyites who came into the game as underdogs. The Wesleyites started off the knockout tournament with a stunning 20 – 17 win over the formidable Science College in the quarter finals and followed it up with a grand 22 – 13 win over segment one ‘A’ division league champions Dharmaraja College in the semi finals to storm into the finals for the third time in their history.


The Wesleyites first entered the President’s Trophy final in 2002 under the leadership of Lahiru Boteju before losing to Zulki Hamid’s invincible Royal team by 16 – 25 and two years later, they entered the final again before losing to traditional rivals Kingwood by ’13 – 31. It was in 2002 that Wesley beat Trinity by 21-0 in the very first match of the season at Longden Place. Incidentally, the Wesleyites began the 2013 league tournament on a grand scale beating Isipathana ( 23 – 21), St.Joseph’s ( 38 – 24) and St.Anthony’s ( 32 – 17 ) but could not maintain the momentum losing to Royal by (12 – 30), Trinity, (19 – 22) and also being held to an eight all draw by Kingswood and also suffered a 24 – 36 defeat at the hands of Dharmaraja before losing to St.Peter’s in the third place decider having got the better of Science in the penultimate game to finish in fourth position in the Singer segment one ‘A’ division league tournament.

Number Eight Gavin Siegertsz was the keyman in Wesley’s formidable pack who scored a grand try in only the second minute of the final having also scored a try against the formidable league champions Dharmaraja. He was a source of inspiration to his teammates and was ably supported by Lasitha Randheera, Sithum Peiris, Thisara Madhuwantha, Buddhi de Soyza, Ishan Hamidon,Hirantha Liyanagoda and that fierce tackler Joel Perera as the Wesley eight outplayed their counterparts in the loose. Skipper Rahul de Silva operating from the base of the scrum, had a grand game and hit it off smoothly with Fly Half Joel Tillakaratne.

Centres Madushan and Namal Rajakaruna and Wingers Ishaq Junrangpathy and Sajith Ariyawansa punched holes in the Trinity defence with their daring runs while Full Back Lahiru Madushanka too joined the line to form the overlap on several occassions to fox the Trinity defence time and again.
The man who brought about this remarkable change in Wesley’s fortunes this year is former Wesley , CR and FC and Havelocks Prop Forward Henry Terrance who took great pains to mould a champion outfit which brought honour and fame to their school by emerging President’s Trophy Champions.
Wesley College which started rugby in the 1950s has produced several ruggerites who have represented Sri Lanka with distinction Cavern Gauder, Reginald Bartholomeusz, Zubair Doray, Ransiri Sahabandu, Kishan Musafer,Kasun de Silva, Niroshan Karunanayake, Samantha Lakshan, Niranjan Wickramaratne, Henry Terrence are some of the players who have represented the country.

Wesley College retained the Plate Rugby Championship where they pulled off a 26 points(3 Goals, 1 Try) to 20 (2 Goals , 2 penalties) win over St.Anthony’s College Kandy in the decider played yesterday at CR and FC grounds at Longden place. Both teams played a superb brand of rugby and in the 19th minute of play Wesley College winger P.H.D.M.Ranaweera scored a try off a beautiful three quarter move which was converted by their play maker Chamika Kusal and Wesley led 7-nil. The Antonians were awarded two back to back penalties for infringements by Wesley and their full back Kumara Maduwantha put over both penalties from difficult angles to close the gap to just one point. Wesley 7, St.Anthony’s 6. There was no further scoring before the breather with Wesley leading 7-6. After the resumption in the eighth minute of the second half off a ruck St.Anthony’s worked their three quarter line where their speedy wing three quarter D.M.Jayatissa went over the line for a try. Full back Kumara Maduwantha put over the difficult touch line conversion and for the first time Antonians took the lead by 13 points to 7.

Within five minutes Wesley set their line in motion where their scrum half Avishka Lee scored off a fantastic three quarter move. winger Chamika Kusal made the conversion to take the lead back to Wesley. The score read 14-13 in favour off Wesley. In the 16th minute of play a St.Anthony’s player knocked on and Wesley collected the loose ball and worked their line for their captain cum winger Omar Kuthubdeen to score a superb try and their place kicker Chamika Kusal made the conversion to make it 21-13 in favour of Wesley. Antonians received a scrum in their 50 metre and their captain cum number eight Newman Dilan made a brilliant break from the base where he ran more than 25 metres and gave a beautiful off load to his centre Dinuk Amarasinghe who burst through for a fantastic try after brushing off several Wesley defenders to score mid right. Full back Kumara Maduwantha made the conversion and the score read 21 – 20 in favour of Wesley. Within the space of four minutes Wesley College Sealed the game when they worked their three quarter line off a ongoing maul where their hard working 2nd row Mithila Perera scored a fabulous try but their winger Chamika Kusal missed the conversion and Wesley ranout winners by 26 points to 20. Referee Irshad Cader

Subscribe to rugby